What’s your purpose?

Such a great question!  Why…

  • Am I a parent?
  • Do I care how my kids act?
  • Do I teach?
  • Am I a coach?
  • Does Rya (my daughter) go to school?
  • Do schools exist?
  • Do we value education?

I have been thinking through the why, the purpose, the reason behind all I do especially in education.  I am reading a book by Sir Ken Robinson and I love how he defines the purpose in education.

“As I see it, the aims of education are to enable students to understand the world around them and the talents within them so that they can become fulfilled individuals and active, compassionate citizens.”

I love how the purpose is so much more than standards and tests, it is about the child and how this child can contribute and find success in this society.  And when I say success, I don’t necessarily mean to go to college and get a degree.  I mean what can bring them joy and contribute to making the world a better place, finding their place in this world.

I truly believe that this idea totally supports our three goals for the upcoming school year:

  • Build Relationships
  • Take Risks
  • Engage in Rigorous Curriculum

 

Leave a Reply

